

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

May 9, 2018

Name Brian M. Davis, Executive Director

Email LTHP.revolvingfund@gmail.com

Phone 318.267.5220

The Louisiana Trust for Historic Preservation is proud to announce the winners of its 2018 Preservation Awards, which will be presented at its annual soirce on Wednesday, May 16. The Louisiana Trust recognizes historic leaders and projects from around the state for their important work in support of historic preservation.

Senator Bill Cassidy will be awarded the *Sue Turner Preservationist of the Year Award*, for his work to preserve the Federal Rehabilitation Tax Credit during the 2017 tax reform. This included sponsoring an amendment to maintain the credit at 20% of eligible expenses. A loss or decrease in the amount of the credit would have made many historic rehabilitation projects too costly. Since 2002, the Federal Rehabilitation Tax Credit has created over 38,000 jobs and fostered over \$2.5 billion in private investment in Louisiana. On the national level, the Federal Rehabilitation Tax Credit has created over 2.4 million jobs, encouraged over \$131 billion in private investment and made the rehabilitation of over 42,000 historic buildings possible, while providing a net positive investment to U.S. taxpayers.

Both the Federal Rehabilitation Tax Credit and the LA State Rehabilitation Tax Credit are earned credits, which are awarded after projects are reviewed and certified, to insure the work maintains a building's historic character.

"The historic tax credit has helped revitalize hundreds of buildings in Louisiana, creating jobs for workers and preserving our architectural heritage for future generations," said Dr. Cassidy. "Supporting historic preservation in tax reform was a top priority for me. I'm honored to receive this award."

Other honorees at the Louisiana Trust's Soiree include:

Main Street Award - Recognizes a Main Street community that exemplifies the strategic use of creativity, historic preservation and/or culture to build a climate for cultural expression, improve quality of life, enhance existing assets and strengthen economic opportunity while respecting the quality of the area.

Ruston Main Street

Education Award - Recognizes an **individual** or **organization** that, through educational efforts, helped broaden appreciation for the importance of value of historic preservation in Louisiana

Oakley Plantation & Audubon State Historic Site, St. Francisville

Leadership Award - Recognizes an **individual** that is making or has made a significant contribution to the promotion of historic preservation, or the development of his or her cultural discipline in a community, region, or state.

Patricia Gay - Executive Director Emerita, Preservation Resource Center of New Orleans

Heritage Award - Recognizes an **organization** that successfully leveraged assets to provide greater cultural value to its region within the state such as a heritage tourism project, or restoration /preservation effort such as adaptive reuse.

Beauregard Parish Police Jury and Beauregard Parish Tourist Commission

Renovation of the Beauregard Parish Courthouse and Gothic Jail

Vantage Health Plan, Inc.

Rehabilitation of Virginia Hotel, Monroe

The Winnie Byrd Preservationist Extraordinaire Award -

Louisiana Trust's highest honor for a body of work in step with LTHP's mission to advocate, promote and preserve historic places representing our diverse culture.

Sand and Norman Marmillion – Laura and Columbia Plantations, for years of historic research, interpretation and leadership.

For more information about the LTHP Soiree and Annual Awards or the 39th Annual Louisiana Preservation Conference on May 16 & 17 in Thibodaux, please visit LTHP.org/events/ or contact 225.930.0936.

The Louisiana Trust for Historic Preservation was founded in 1979 and advocates, promotes and preserves historic places representing our diverse culture. It is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization and all donations are tax deductible to the fullest extent of the law. If you know of historic buildings which may benefit from the Louisiana Trust's work or would like more information, visit LTHP.org.

###

Photos may be found at: https://www.dropbox.com/sh/9tkcvpehd04n4uy/AAD7QxTnboyO7q0Mwlms5vJPa?dl=0

Photo credit: Louisiana Trust

Caption for photo "Byrd_Cassidy_Turner": Louisiana Trust founders, Winnie Byrd (L) and Sue Turner (R), congratulate Senator Bill Cassidy on receiving the *Sue Turner Preservationist of the Year Award*.