Remarkably, the Loisel House is still in its 19th century setting with sugar cane fields on two sides, the site of its old sugar
mill on another side, and a rear-facing historic Bayou Teche! This setting combined with a respectful restoration and the loving commitment of its owners to maintaining this phenomenal home and property is readily apparent when you visitLoisel. And the area is steeped in the rich history of being along the Old Spanish Trail and Bayou Teche! Loisel is at the heart of these important commercial arteries. Steamboats carried goods and luxury items to the residents along
Bayou Teche. Today it flows gently by Loisel House and is shaded by ancient oaks graciously planted centuries ago.
Built about 1830 by Nicholas Loisel (1781-1856) and his wife Celeste Elenore Provost-Loisel (1797-1849), is an
architecturally and culturally significant Creole house in Bayou Teche Country. It has 5 bedrooms and 4 full bathrooms. The original floor plan was three rooms across, by two rooms deep, and had three French door entrances along the front of the house. About 1869, Dr. Harvey Bussey of Ohio purchased Loisel and subsequently altered the floor plan. He added
a prominent front door, modernized mantels in the dining room and living room, and several other alterations. All of
the home’s historic architectural elements have been expertly maintained such as floors, mantels, windows, doors, etc.
Modern conveniences were added in a careful renovation about 2019.